What’s Sera Reading? The Wind Singer

Sera with the Tenbury Library copy of The Wind Singer by William Nicholson

The first in a trilogy, The main character’s are twins Kestrel and Bowman Hath, who share a telepathic/empathic connection and include what seems a useless character Mumpo. The children are from a very controlled life and are suddenly chased into an epic, at times strange adventure.  On top of Bowman possessing empathic abilities, the group have to overcome completely different lands. In part, it is a children’s book about the horrors of standardized testing. In the city of Aramanth, the lives of its citizens are ruled by a colour-coded caste system of tests. How well one does on the yearly “High Examination” determines what you do for work, where you live, and even what colour clothing you wear. Yet there is more to the book, the complexity of friendship and challenging the thoughts of aggression as one only form of attack or defence. You are left with many questions about what will happen next (good job, it is a trilogy) and why the world is so different. So if you want an honestly mind-boggling adventure with loads of fun, here is a book for you.

the updated covers for the 10th anniversary
the original book series Wind on Fire trilogy

What’s The Next Book Like?

Second book in the series – Slaves of the Mastery

picks up the story of twins Kestrel and Bowman five years on from the closing chapter of The Wind Singer. relseaed from the grip of the fearsome Morah the city is new and is therefore not ready to deal with an oncoming attack. This time it is the whole peoples that are taken from thier home and lead on a death march to a new land. with the exception of Kestrel Hath, the Manth people who servive are brought to the Mastery, a beautiful country built up entirely on slave labor. They are branded and given jobs. 

This is as dark as the first story but for me, much more clear about its enemy. Everyday the Manth people have to deal with life and death choices and Nicholson spares no mercy in how he delievers the teast of charaters. reading this book i’m reminded of how we have so many choices and how difficult it would be to try and give others hope in such a dark test of time/trust. the whimsy of the first book is gone and i like this telling of charaters and situations better. The narrative is cleavely written so young readers can manage the subject matter, evoking vivid imagery but never going so far as to make it too graphic. A much more cleaner and more mature narrative with lots of adventure and plenty of emotion put in every step.

Published by BlueFalcon1983

YA Writer and illustrator

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: